Kwara LG Poll: Govt should clear backlogs before elections – LP

Date: 2017-01-17

Fagbemi-led PDP faction sets up 9-man panel

The Kwara state chapter of Labour Party (LP) on Sunday urged the ruling government to clear backlogs of workers salaries before the forthcoming local government election.

In a telephone chat with the party state secretary, Abdulmumini Onagun, he lamented on the situation, saying government workers cannot be happy going into any poll with hunger.

He urged the government to use the share of the Kwara State in the London/Paris Club Refund to clear the salary backlogs salaries of the workers, adding that Kwara should adhere to the directive of the federal government over how the money should be used.

"People are suffering and we want to go into another election, government should attend to unemployment issue in the state, this will give them credibility before the public, it's more dangerous to be laughing on empty stomach," he stressed.

He said his party is ready for the forthcoming local government elections and that credible candidates will be presented to vie for the various positions.

Meanwhile, in a bid to reposition the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the chapter for better performance in the forthcoming local government elections, the Prince Sunday Fagbemi led-faction of the party has constituted a nine-man panel, National Pilot can report.

Fagbemi disclosed to this medium on Sunday that the committee is constituted to ensure the party fields credible and people of integrity to participate in the poll.

According to him, "We are working on our part for the local government poll, we've constituted nine-man panel that is headed by Honourable Ilyasu Ibrahim.

"We draw our members from the three senatorial districts in the state. This will make everyone in the party see need to rise up and work for the party.

"The ruling government should make plight of workers most touching, backlogs salaries should be given priority so that elections could be held under a conducive atmosphere” Fagbemi said.

He however stressed that the problem confronting the Kwara PDP is as a result of some judges at the national level who out of selfish interest misled the public with their judgment over some issues in the party. "Once the judgment of Justice Okon Abang is passed, then we will heave a sigh of relief here. The judgment has been delaying the progress of the party for long. Though on our part, we have continued mobilising and sensitising our members and we only need a clear coast from the national," he said.

The chairman of the newly constituted committee, Hon Ilyasu Ibrahim, lauded the leadership of the party for drawing its members from the three (3) senatorial districts in the state. He stressed that the idea will encourage participation of every member of PDP in the decision making process.

Ilyasu noted that, "kwarans are no longer confused over which faction of the party is authentic between ours and Iyiola Oyedepo," adding that Fagbemi led-faction now has the authority of the party.

Other members of the panel are: Abubakar Sanni and Dada Abiodun from Kwara North, Alhaji Sina Bello, Haijia Raimat Ayo, Alhaji Sehu Abdulsalam from Kwara Central and Barr Joseph Ashaolu, Engr Kanmi Olatunji and Hon Olawumi Abiodun from Kwara South.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Dairo Kunle Paul     Agbarere     Femtech     Abdullahi G. Mohammad     Ariyo     Yakubu Shaaba     Abdul-Rasheed Na 'Allah     Shonga     Moji Makanjuola     Lawan     Zulu Gambari     Alabi Lawal     Apaola     Ijagbo Health Centre     Muritala Awodun     Obuh     Playing Host     Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency     Elelu     Shehu Salau     Kwara Restoration Project     08001000100     Yakub Lai Gobir     Sunday Otokiti     Omotosho     Moronfoye     Alloy Chukwuemeka     SGBN     Olusola Saraki     Ahmad Lawan     Salake     Adamu Ibrahim Sabi     Kwabes     Bolakale Ayo     Police Commissioner     Third Estate     Oke-Oyi     Ijakadi     Ajase-Ipo     Ajidagba     Abdul-Rasheed Na'Allah     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     Olatunji Ayeni     Abdulrasheed Na'Allah     Haruna Tambiri Mohammed     Share-Tsaragi     Ayodele Olaosebikan     Sa'adu Gambari     Senate Presidency     Kale Bayero     Lak Jimoh     Henry Makinwa     Royal FM     Kwara State Government     Maja     Labaeka     Musa Alhassan Buge     Elerinjare     Yusuf Olaolu Ali     Omupo     Alimi     Issa Oloruntogun     Kwara State Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Muhammed Abdullahi     Ahmad Uthman     Valsolar Consortium     Unilorin FM     Oba Of Jebba     Mohammed Abdulahi     Abubakar Abdulraheem     Omu Aran     Bayo Ajia     Kwara Politics     Oba Abu     Ilorin International Airport     Ayotunde Emmanuel Alao     Adebayo Salami